The beginning
2004-12-26 :: 9:53 a.m.

Today is my birthday. I am 25 years old. Time to bust out the wrinkle cream. Heh. I remember when I was little and my grandpa used to push me on this little swing that looked like the cookie monster. That was until I got too chubby and the swing broke. Ugh.
Christmas went pretty well. I got a memory foam mattress topper from my parents, which is so nice. Adam got me a "Chicken Soup for the Nurses Soul" book. It has great stories in it, some of them make me cry, but it makes me feel so glad to be in that profession. My grandpa in Johnstown gave me $50, and told my parents he wanted to see me. That would be nice, be it that he wasn't married to the wicked witch of the east. Pap got me and Adam a $20 gift card to Hoss' so that when we are broke and have no food, we can eat at a nice restauraunt.
Today we are going to go exchange gifts with Scott and Thom. Scott is my gay ex-boyfriend but he's one of my best friends. When he comes over he says "Your gay boyfriend is here." He's a sweetie. His brother Thom is cool too. There's lots of history behind Scott and Thom. Maybe one of these days I'll go into it. Not today. Also Adam and I are going to meet my parents and Pap at Hoss' for my birthday. I really hope that my mother dosen't tell anyone that it's my birthday. I get so embarassed when people come over and sing. Ugh. That is the most embarassing thing in the world. First off, I'm not skinny, and to sing to the fat girl and hand her a cake in front of tons of people is very traumatizing. Secondly, believe it or not, I don't even like cake all that much.
I'm so glad I'm off tonight again. Work was driving me crazy. It's funny how I work so well with Kristina after all this time of us not really getting along. I've never joked around with someone so much in my life as I do with my two co-workers. They're like the sisters I've never had. I work in a nursing home that is composed of 90% dementia people. It is interesting to say the least. I've worked there for 2 years and I've been through 5 directors of nursing. The nurse that has been there the longest has been there for a year and a half, and she works 2 days a week on my shift. We just recently got a new administrator, and I like her a lot. Lots of people say that she's mean, but I think she does a lot for our residents, so you can tell she does have her priorities straight and she's there for the right reasons. Plus, she dosen't just work from 9-5 weekdays. She's there extra hours and on weekends. That's the sign of someone who cares for the residents.
Well, I better be going. I'm going to get ready to celebrate my birthday. I think the first thing on the agenda this morning will be a nice game of Mario Party 6.

Ciao!

<< then // now >>